Roman Catholic Diocese of Huelva

Roman Catholic Diocese Of Huelva

Roman Catholic Diocese of Huelva

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Diocese Of Huelva' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Diocese of Huelva (Latin: Onubensis) is located in south-western Spain, and its borders coincide with those of the civil province of Huelva, part of the autonomous community of Andalusia. The diocese forms part of the Ecclesiastical Province of Seville, and is thus suffragan to the Archdiocese of Seville.


The diocese is bounded on the north by the Archdiocese of Mérida-Badajoz, on the east by the Archdiocese of Seville and Diocese of Cádiz, on the south by the Atlantic Ocean, and on the west by the Diocese of Faro, in the Portuguese Algarve, of which it is separated by the Guadiana river. The surface of the diocese is 10,085 km² and its population is 472,000 in 79 municipalities (2005). The estimated catholic population is 446,000. There are 172 parishes in the diocese.

The territory includes four different zones:

  • The Northern Mountain range, a mountainous land, with an oceanic microclimate that gives rise to an abundant vegetation.
  • The Andévalo and Minas, a central, barren zone, in which mining operations abound.
  • The Condado, to the Southeast, with fertile and rich lands, apt for agriculture and wine production.
  • The Coast, to the southwest, apt for agriculture and fishing.

The economy is based on agriculture, fishing and mining. In the Diocese are located several historic places where Christopher Columbus sailed out of on his first voyage in 1492.

Diocesan See

The see of the Diocese, and provincial capital is the city of Huelva (pop...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from