Roman Catholic Diocese of Providence

Roman Catholic Diocese Of Providence

Diocese Less

Roman Catholic Diocese of Providence

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Diocese Of Providence' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Providence () is a diocese of the Roman Catholic Church in the United States. The diocese was erected by Pope Pius IX on February 17, 1872 and originally comprised the entire state of Rhode Island and the counties of Bristol, Barnstable, Dukes and Nantucket in the state of Massachusetts. On March 12, 1904, those four counties were separated from the Diocese of Providence to form the Diocese of Fall River, Massachusetts, leaving the Diocese of Providence with just the state of Rhode Island. The diocese is suffragan to the Archdiocese of Hartford and a part of the ecclesiastical province that includes that archdiocese and the suffragan dioceses of Bridgeport and Norwich. The Cathedral of SS. Peter and Paul in Providence is the mother church of the diocese of Providence. The Most Reverend Thomas Joseph Tobin, former Bishop of Youngstown, Ohio, is the eighth, and current, Bishop of Providence.


  1. Thomas F. Hendricken (1872 - 1886)
  2. Matthew Harkins (1887 - 1921)
  3. William A. Hickey (1921 - 1933)
  4. Francis Patrick Keough (1934 - 1947)
  5. Russell Joseph McVinney (1948 - 1971)
  6. Louis Edward Gelineau (1972 - 1997)
  7. Robert Edward Mulvee ......
  8. ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from