Roman Catholic Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau

Roman Catholic Diocese Of Springfield-Cape Girardeau

Diocese Less

Roman Catholic Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Diocese Of Springfield-Cape Girardeau' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau () is a Roman Catholic diocese in Missouri. It was founded on August 24, 1956. The current bishop is the Most Reverend James Vann Johnston, Jr., appointed January 24, 2008, and installed March 31, 2008.

The diocese was formed from the Archdiocese of St. Louis and the Diocese of Saint Joseph. It consists of 39 counties in southern Missouri, is mainly rural, and includes the urban areas of Springfield (the diocese headquarters), Branson, and Cape Girardeau.

The diocese includes 66 parishes, 19 missions, 2 chapels, and, as of a 2003 estimate, 63,179 Catholics. The diocese has an increasing Hispanic population.

This region is mainly located in the Ozarks and Bootheel of Missouri, where Catholics make up about 5% of the total population. The religion of the Ozarks, in particular, is notably individualistic and conservative; a major Christian denomination in the region is Pentecostalism.


The diocese has two cathedrals: St. Agnes Cathedral in Springfield and The Cathedral of the Annunciation in Cape Girardeau. They are often referred to as co-cathedrals, but they are not. Two cathedrals were established because the eventual plan is to make each cathedral the seat of a separate diocese. However, this does not look to be coming to fruition in the near future.

The past bishops of the diocese are:

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from