Roman Catholic Diocese of St. Augustine

Roman Catholic Diocese Of St. Augustine

Diocese Less

Roman Catholic Diocese of St. Augustine

to get instant updates about 'Roman Catholic Diocese Of St. Augustine' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Roman Catholic Diocese of St. Augustine is a diocese of the Catholic Church's Latin Church in the U.S. state of Florida. Part of the Ecclesiastical Province of Miami, it covers much of North Florida, including the cities of St. Augustine, Jacksonville, and Gainesville. The bishop's seat is the Cathedral-Basilica of St. Augustine. Pope Benedict XVI has appointed Felipe de Jesus Estevez to succeed Victor Galeone as Bishop of St. Augustine, coinciding with Gaelone's retirement on April 27, 2011.

St. Augustine is the oldest continuously inhabited European-established settlement in the continental U.S., and was the site of the earliest known Catholic mass in what is now the continental U.S. The city was part of other dioceses until March 11, 1870, when the Diocese of St. Augustine was created. It covered most of the Florida peninsula until the 1950s, when Florida's expanding population necessitated the creation of new dioceses.

List of bishops

  1. Augustin Verot, P.S.S. (1857–1876)
  2. John Moore (1877–1901)
  3. William John Kenny (1902–1913)
  4. Michael Joseph Curley (1914–1921)
  5. Patrick Joseph Barry (1922–1940)
  6. Joseph Patrick Hurley (1940–1967)
  7. Paul Francis Tanner...... ...
  8. ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from