Roman Imperial currency

Roman Imperial Currency

Roman Imperial currency

to get instant updates about 'Roman Imperial Currency' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Roman Provincial coins are coins that were minted in the Roman Empire by civic authorities rather than by Imperial authorities. Often these coins were a continuation of the original currency system that existed prior to the arrival or conquest by the Romans.


Provincial coins were issued in bronze and silver denominations, though never gold.The majority of the coins issued by the provincial mints were of bronze. Silver coins were common in regions of the Eastern Empire (particularly Alexandria). In general the issue of silver coinage was controlled by Rome. This was because by controlling the issue of silver coins (denarius), the Roman government could control and influence events in the provinces. The coins issued by a city were mostly used by the inhabitants of that city in local transactions. When a new region was assimilated by Rome, the Romans would frequently allow the continuation of the original currency as a matter of expediency. Frequently, when a new Colony was formed it would be given authority to mint bronze coins.


There were over 600 provincial mints during the Roman Imperial Era David R. Sear,Greek Imperial Coins,Seaby 1982,2001. The mints were located throughout the empire, with a particular concentration in the Eastern portions of the Empire.

The mint were located in major provincial cities such as Corinth orAntioch. There are several cities which are only known by their coins, as there is no historical mention of...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from