The Royal Academy of Music's museum
(also known as the York Gate Collections
) is a museum of musical instruments and artefacts and research centre of the Royal Academy of Music
The building was designed in 1822 as part of the main entrance to Regent’s Park, and was an important feature in John Nash
’s architectural designs for Regency London. The interior of York Gate was largely destroyed by bomb damage in the 1940s, but the Nash exterior has Grade 1 listed building status. The Royal Academy of Music moved to Marylebone Road
in 1911, and held a lease on part of York Gate during the 1920s and 1930s. A grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund enabled the Academy to acquire and refurbish the building to house studios and practice rooms and a museum.
The collections and galleries
The galleries display materials from the Academy’s collections of instruments, archives, manuscripts and images. The highlights of the collections include Cremonese stringed instruments dated between 1650 and 1740, a selection of historical English pianos from 1790 to 1850, from the famous Mobbs Collection. The galleries act as a showcase for the work of performers, composers, instrument makers and scholars from a wide range of musical and other relevant disciplines.
The Academy houses original manuscripts by Purcell
and Vaughan Williams
, musical memorabilia and... Read More