Royal Society of South Australia

Royal Society Of South Australia

Royal Society of South Australia

to get instant updates about 'Royal Society Of South Australia' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Royal Society of South Australia (RSSA) is a Learned Society whose interest is in Science, particularly, but not only, of South Australia.

The Society stems directly from the Adelaide Philosophical Society founded on the 10 January 1853. The title "Royal" was granted by her Majesty Queen Victoria in 1880 and the Society became known by its present designation. It was incorporated in 1883.

Adelaide Philosophical Society

The Society had its origins in a meeting at the Stephens Place home of J. L. Young (founder of the Adelaide Educational Institution) on the evening of 10 January 1853. Members inducted were Messrs. John Brown, John Howard Clark, Davy, Doswell, Charles Gregory Feinaigle, Gilbert, Gosse, Hamilton, Hammond, W. B. Hays, Jones, Kay, Mann, Whitridge, Williams, Wooldridge and John Lorenzo Young. South Australian Register 11 January 1853 p.3 accessed 30 May 2011 J. Howard Clark was elected secretary. On 15 September rules were adopted and His Excellency the Governor Sir Henry Young<!--no relation to J. L. Young--> was elected president. South Australian Register 19 September 1853 p.3 accessed 30 May 2011 South Australian Register 30 January 1854 p.3 accessed 30 May 2011


There are five classes of members:
  • Honorary......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from