Rugby Football League Championship Second Division

Rugby Football League Championship Second Division

Rugby Football League Championship Second Division

to get instant updates about 'Rugby Football League Championship Second Division' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Within British rugby league there have been periods when the Championship has been divided into two divisions, with promotion and relegation between the two. For more on the varying structure of rugby league, see Rugby Football League Championship.

During certain periods, a third division has also existed.

After 1996, 11 clubs resigned from the championship to form Super League; the remaining clubs initially continued to play in what was now known as the First Division. Despite this title, this competition formed the second tier of rugby league in Britain, and the results are collated here.

Between 1999 and 2002 the competition was known as the Northern Ford Premiership, as a result of sponsorship from Northern Ford Dealers.

In 2003 rugby league beneath Super League were completely re-organised into the National Leagues, now known as the Championships.

Second Division Championship winners

For completeness, this table includes champions from National League One (2003-2008) and the Co-operative Championship (2009-present)


  1. Denotes that champions were not promoted.
  2. Denotes a play-off system was used to determine the championship.
  3. No direct promotion. Teams elected to Super League on the basis of successful license applications.

See also


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from