Rugby League World Cup

Rugby League World Cup

Rugby League FootballCompetition
Rugby League FootballCompetition Less

Rugby League World Cup

to get instant updates about 'Rugby League World Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Rugby League World Cup is an international rugby league competition contested by members of the Rugby League International Federation. It has been held nearly once every 4 years on average since the first tournament, which was in France in 1954. This was the first World Cup of either rugby code and the first competition to be officially known as the "Rugby World Cup".Folkard, 2003: 337SPARC, 2009: 28 The most recent tournament was contested in Australia in 2008 and was won by New Zealand for the first time. In the thirteen tournaments held to date, three nations have won the competition (Australia nine times, Great Britain three times and New Zealand once) out of the seventeen total teams who haven taken part. Australia, France and New Zealand are the only teams to have played in all tournaments, with Great Britain being split into England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland since 1995. The next competition in 2013 will be in the United Kingdom.

Since 2000, the RLIF has also organised World Cups for Women, Students and other categories.


The Rugby League World Cup was an initiative of the French, who had been campaigning for a Rugby League World Cup since 1935. The idea was further pursued in 1951 in post-war France, with the pioneer of the concept being Paul Barrière, the President of the French Rugby League. In January 1952 the idea gained momentum...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Rugby League Football Competition
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from