Ruth Laredo

to get instant updates about 'Ruth Laredo' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Ruth Laredo (November 20, 1937May 26, 2005) was an American classical pianist.

She became known in the 1970s in particular for her premiere recordings of the 10 sonatas of Scriabin and the complete solo piano works of Rachmaninoff, for her Ravel recordings and in the last 16½ years before her death for her series in the Metropolitan Museum of Art “Concerts with Commentary”. She was often referred to as “America's First Lady of the Piano”.


Ruth Meckler was born on November 20, 1937 as the elder of two daughters of Miriam Meckler-Horowitz, a piano teacher, and Ben Meckler, an English teacher, in Detroit, Michigan. When she was only two years old, she was already able to play God Bless America on the piano of her mother, without being taught.Ruth Laredo, The Ruth Laredo Becoming a Musician Book, Schott/European American Music, 1992, ISBN 0913574996, 1992

When she was eight years old, her mother took her to a concert of Vladimir Horowitz in the Masonic Auditorium in Detroit. After the concert she vowed to become a concert pianist herself. Horowitz played Scriabin, and Laredo was so fascinated by this music that she developed a lifelong passion for Scriabin and other Russian composers, including Scriabin's contemporary Rachmaninoff.

In 1960 she moved to New York City and married the Bolivian-born violinist Jaime Laredo, who was three and a half years younger than herself. She...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from