Saporta Cup

Saporta Cup

Sports League
Sports League Less

Saporta Cup

to get instant updates about 'Saporta Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Saporta Cup was the name of the second-tier level European professional club basketball competition, where the National Cup winners from all over Europe played against each other. The competition was organized by FIBA Europe. It was named after Raimundo Saporta, a Real Madrid director.


The competition was created in 1966, as the European Cup Winners' Cup, but it had several denominations until its eventual folding in 2002:

  • 1966-67 to 1990-91 - European Cup Winners' Cup
  • 1991-92 to 1995-96 - European Cup
  • 1996-97 to 1997-98 - EuroCup
  • 1998-99 to 2001-02 - Saporta Cup

The very last Saporta Cup season was held during the 2001-2002 season. After that, it was fused with the Korańá Cup, into the newly formed ULEB Cup competition, now known as the Eurocup.



Winning rosters

Cup Winners' Cup:

1966-67 Ignis Varese (Italy):

Stan McKenzie, Sauro Bufalini, Dino Meneghin, Giambattista Cescutti, Ottorino Flaborea, Massimo Villetti, Paolo Vittori, Enrico Bovone, Pierangelo Gergati, R.Gergati (Head Coach: Vittorio Tracuzzi)

1967-68 AEK Athens (Greece):

Georgios Amerikanos, Georgios Trontzos, Christos Zoupas, Stelios Vasiliadis, Eas Larentzakis, Antonis Christeas,...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Sports League
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from