French Commune
French Commune Less


to get instant updates about 'Sarreguemines' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Sarreguemines (German Saargemünd) is a commune in the Moselle department in Lorraine in north-eastern France.

It is the seat of an arrondissement.


Sarreguemines, whose name is a French spelling of the name in local Lorraine-German dialect "Saargemin", meaning "confluence into the Saar", is located at the confluence of the Blies and the Saar, east of Metz, northwest of Strasbourg by rail, and at the junction of the lines to Trier and Saarburg. Traditionally Sarreguemines was the head of river navigation on the Saar, its importance being a depot where boats were unloaded.


Sarreguemines is the seat of two cantons:
  • Sarreguemines, comprising the commune of Sarreguemines
  • Sarreguemines-Campagne, comprising 21 nearby communes


Saargemünd, originally a Roman settlement, obtained civic rights early in the 13th century. In 1297 it was ceded by the count of Saarbrücken to the Duke of Lorraine, and passed with Lorraine in 1766 to France.

It was transferred to Germany in 1871, with the Treaty of Frankfurt following the Franco-Prussian War. From 1871 to 1918 it formed part of the German imperial province of Alsace-Lorraine and manufactured plush velvet, leather, porcelain, and earthenware, and was a chief depot for papier-mâché boxes, mostly used for snuffboxes. It was returned to France after World War I.

Notable people

Sarreguemines was the birthplace of
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


French Commune
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from