Sea Shanties (Spiers and Boden album)

Sea Shanties (Spiers And Boden Album)

Sea Shanties (Spiers and Boden album)

to get instant updates about 'Sea Shanties (Spiers And Boden Album)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Sea Shanties is an album by Ian Giles, Spiers and Boden and Graham Metcalfe.

Most of the tracks are sung as an unaccompanied quartet of male voices. The sound is so thick that there is probably only one microphone. There are two instrumental tracks. This appears to be the first ever recording of the tune "Ashley's Flag", printed about 1800. The album was available at UK tourist centres rather than high street music stores. Recorded and released in 2002.

Track listing

  1. Haul away the bowline (Trad)
  2. Clear away the track (Trad)
  3. Portsmouth/ Bonny Kate (instr) (Trad/Trad)
  4. Bully in the alley (Trad)
  5. All for me grog (Trad)
  6. Ten Thousand Miles Away (Trad)
  7. The 24th of February (Trad)
  8. The weary whaling ground (Trad)
  9. Ashley's hornpipe/ Ashley's flag (instr) (Trad/Trad)
  10. Nancy of Yarmouth (Trad)
  11. Paddy Doyle's boots (Trad)
  12. The bonny ship the Diamond (Trad)
  13. The candlelight fisherman (Trad)
  14. The gallant frigate Amphitrite (Trad)
  15. Go to sea no more (Trad)
  16. The Whitby lad (Trad)
  17. A sailor's life (Trad)


  • Ian Giles - vocals and English concertina
  • John Spiers - voice and accordion
  • Jon Boden - vocals, guitar and fiddle
  • Graham Metcalfe - voice

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from