Secretary of state (U.S. state government)

Secretary Of State (U.S. State Government)

Secretary of state (U.S. state government)

to get instant updates about 'Secretary Of State (U.S. State Government)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Secretary of State is an official in the state governments of 47 of the 50 states of the United States, as well as Puerto Rico and other U.S. possessions. In Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia, this official is called the Secretary of the Commonwealth. In the states of Alaska, Hawaii, and Utah, there is no Secretary of State; in those states many duties that a Secretary of State might normally execute fall within the domain of the Lieutenant Governor. Like the Lieutenant Governor, in most states the Secretary of State is in the line of succession to succeed the governor, in most cases immediately behind the Lieutenant Governor. In three states with no Lieutenant Governor; Arizona, Oregon and Wyoming, the Secretary of State is first in the line of succession in the event of a gubernatorial vacancy.

Currently, in 35 states, such as California, Illinois, and Mississippi, the Secretary of State is elected, usually for a four-year term. In others, the Secretary of State is appointed by the governor; Florida , Oklahoma, and Texas are amongst the states with this practice. In three states, the Secretary of State is elected by the state legislature; the General Assembly of Tennessee meets in joint convention to elect the Secretary of State to a four-year term, and the Maine Legislature and New Hampshire General Court also select their Secretaries of State, but to two-year terms....
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from