Sha Tin Racecourse

Sha Tin Racecourse

Racecourse Less

Sha Tin Racecourse

to get instant updates about 'Sha Tin Racecourse' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Sha Tin Racecourse () is one of the two racecourses for horse racing in Hong Kong. It is located in Sha Tin in the New Territories. It is managed by Hong Kong Jockey Club.

Penfold Park is encircled by the track.


It was built in 1978 (under the administration of Sir David Akers-Jones, the then-Secretary for the New Territories) on reclaimed land and is the larger of the two tracks in Hong Kong.

The course has 474 races per season including:

  • Sha Tin Racecourse Silver Jubilee Cup
  • Sha Tin Sprint Trophy

On September 9, 2007, Sha Tin race track opened for the season with record 1-day crowd of about 60,000. Chief Secretary Henry Tang stroke the ceremonial gong. The Hong Kong Jockey Club collected US$106 million in bets (highest since 2001). Children of horse owners were admitted amid protest of local anti-gambling groups. Sunny Power, booted by Howard Cheng got the trophy in the 1,200 metre dash.


Originally built with capacity for 35,000 and one grandstand, it now has capacity for 85,000 and two grandstands. It also has 20 stables for a capacity of 1,260 horses.

Other features include:

  • Equine Hospital
  • Racing Laboratory
  • Equine Swimming Pool
  • Riverside Gallop

Track Specifications:
  • Turf
    • Straight: 430 metres
    • Circumference: 1899 metres
  • All Weather Track
    • Straight: 380 metres
    • Circumference: 1560 metres

See also


External links

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from