Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less


to get instant updates about 'Shahjahanpur' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

<!-- See WikiProject Indian cities for details -->Shahjahanpur (Hinglish:शaहjaहाaanपuर; ) is a municipal board, town and district headquarters of Shahjahanpur District in Uttar Pradesh, India.


During the reign of Shahjahan, Mughal forces demolished the city of Kant. After the battle, Shahjahan gifted 14 villages to two Sipehsalars ((Commanding Generals, सिपहसालार, سپحسالار), Diler Khan and Bahadur Khan and gave them permission to construct fortresses. Diler Khan and Bahadur Khan founded Shahjahanpur on the ruins of Kant. The Mughals established the Kotwali district in the city and built the first Mosque in the town, at Moti Chok. They developed a fort in the nearby village of Nainar Khera, situated on the Garrah river as well as established 52 mohallas named after 52 qabilas (tribes) of Pathans in Afghanistan. Even today, a few of the local mohallas bear the names of these tribes. The nearest prominent Rajput province is Powayan (Gaur Fortress of Powayan) established by Raja Udai Singh in 1705 from Shahjahanpur.

The city came into the spotlight during the Indian struggle for freedom. Pandit Ram Prasad Bismil, Thakur Roshan Singh and Ashfaqulla Khan brought Shahjahanpur fame through their heroic contribution to the independence movement. Thereafter Shahjahanpur also became known as Shaheedon Ki Nagri or "Town of Martyrs."


Shahjahanpur is located at . It has an average elevation...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from