Shariatpur District

Shariatpur District

Settlement Less

Shariatpur District

to get instant updates about 'Shariatpur District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Shariatpur is a district in the Dhaka Division of central Bangladesh.


Six upazilas (sub-district) under this district are:
  1. Bhedarganj Upazila
  2. Damudya Upazila
  3. Gosairhat Upazila
  4. Shakhipur Upazila
  5. Naria Upazila
  6. Shariatpur Sadar Upazila
  7. Zanjira Upazila

Geography & Demography

Shariatpur District is bounded on the north by Munshiganj District, Barisal District on the south, Chandpur District on the east, Madaripur District on the west. Main rivers are Padma, Meghna, Kirtinasha, Palong, Jayanti and Dharmaganj.

Area of Shariatpur district is 1181.53 km². It consists of 6 upazila, 5 Municipality, 102 Mahalla, 64 Union Parishad, 608 Mouza, 1235 Village, 213677 household.

According to the census of 2001, Shariatpur district had a population of 1,082,300 distributed to 213,677 households (average household size 5), including 543,838 men and 538,462 women, or a gender ratio of 101:100. Literacy rate is 38.9%.


Shariatpur was named after Haji Shariatullah (1781–1840), who was the founder of Faraizi Movement and an eminent Islamic reformer during British Raj. Shariatpur was established as district on 1 March 1984. Earlier it was known as Palong thana under Madaripur sub-division which was converted to Shariatpur Sub-division and latterly as district with 6 upgraded thanas.


Economy of Shariatpur district is mainly...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from