The Sheridan Snyder Tennis Center
at the University of Virginia
opened in 1997 right next to Memorial Gymnasium
. The 13-court facility showcases Virginia's men's and women's tennis
The complex boasts state-of-the-art lighting and spectator areas built into the adjacent hillsides. Plans for the complex also include a tennis pavilion that will house instructional and meeting areas, tournament administration headquarters, and equipment storage space.
The tennis center is named after Sheridan Snyder, a 1958 University of Virginia graduate who founded the National Junior Tennis League
. Snyder is also a board member of Friends of Virginia Tennis.
Tennis in Charlottesville
Virginia's Sheridan Snyder Tennis Center not only provides a home for the Cavaliers, but also hosts institutions from the community and around the nation. In addition to University faculty and staff tournaments, clinics, and student classes, the courts accommodate community participants in the Dogwood Festival Tournament, a number of Junior Tournaments, and MATA
Tournaments. Open 18 hours a day, the Center provides more than 120 hours of tennis opportunities each week.
Tennis facilities at Virginia date back to 1931 with the construction of the Lady Astor tennis courts. The school's first tennis center was made possible by a gift from Nancy Lady Astor
, a Virginia-born member of the British Parliament, who contributed her resources on the condition that... Read More