Shire of East Pilbara

Shire Of East Pilbara

Australian Place
Australian Place Less

Shire of East Pilbara

to get instant updates about 'Shire Of East Pilbara' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Shire of East Pilbara is one of the four Local Government Area in the Pilbara region of Western Australia, and with an area close to , is the third largest municipality in the world, after two new municipalities in Greenland (Qaasuitsup and Sermersooq, with each around 650,000&nbsp;km<sup>2</sup>). The municipality is bigger than many countries, for example Norway. The Shire's seat of government, and home to slightly over half the Shire's population, is the town of Newman in the shire's south-west.


The Shire has its origin in two early road districts: Bamboo, established in 1896 and renamed Marble Bar in 1904; and Nullagine, established in 1898. On 1 July 1961, both became Shires under the Local Government Act 1960.

On 27 May 1972 the two merged to form the Shire of East Pilbara.


The Shire is divided into 6 wards, most with one councillor:

  • South Ward (5 councillors)
  • North
  • North West
  • Central
  • Lower Central
  • East



External links

<!-- coords of seat -->

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Australian Place
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from