Slovenian Littoral

Slovenian Littoral

Slovenian Littoral

to get instant updates about 'Slovenian Littoral' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Slovenian Littoral (; ; ) is a historical region of Slovenia. Its name recalls the historical Habsburg crown land of the Austrian Littoral, of which the Slovenian Littoral was a part.

The region comprises two traditional provinces: Goriška and Slovenian Istria. The Goriška region takes its name after the town of Gorizia (Gorica in Slovene), now in Italy. It comprises those areas of the former County of Gorizia and Gradisca that were assigned to Yugoslavia (Slovenia) after 1947, as well as the Vipava and Idrija municipalities. Slovenian Istria comprises the northern part of the Istria peninsula and provides, at the port of Koper, the country's only access to the sea.


During the period of Austrian rule, the region was known as the Austrian Littoral, and was divided into Istria, the Imperial Free City of Trieste, and the autonomous Crown Lands of Gorizia and Gradisca.

In 1918, the whole area was occupied by the Italian army. In 1920, Italy annexed it, renaming it to Julian March (Venezia Giulia). After World War II, the area was split between Yugoslavia, which got the majority of the region, and Italy, which kept the urban centres of Trieste and Gorizia. As a result, new urban centres on the Slovenian part of the border developed. Today, the main urban centers of the Slovene Littoral are Koper and the Nova Gorica - Šempeter conurbation.

After Ljubljana, the Slovene Littoral is the most developed and economically most prosperous part of Slovenia. The western...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from