Sociedad Deportivo Quito

Sociedad Deportivo Quito

Football Club
Football Club Less

Sociedad Deportivo Quito

to get instant updates about 'Sociedad Deportivo Quito' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Sociedad Deportivo Quito is a Ecuadorian professional football club based in Quito. They play in the Serie A, the highest level of the Ecuadorian professional football league.

Deportivo Quito has won four Serie A titles in 1964, 1968, 2008, and 2009. This places them fifth overall. The club also has four Interandean Tournament titles in 1955, 1956, 1957, and 1963. Additionally, the club was runner up in 1985, 1988, and 1997. Based on its style of play, sports journalists and fans nicknamed the club La Academia de los Ecuatorianos desde 1940 ().

Deportivo Quito was officially founded in 1955, although they trace their roots to Sociedad Deportiva Argentina, which was founded on July 9, 1940. Historic rivals include Liga de Quito, Aucas, and El Nacional. They play their home games at Estadio Olímpico Atahualpa.


The club was founded on July 9, 1940, under the name Sociedad Deportiva Argentina. On October 1, 1954, the club, together with Sociedad Deportiva Aucas & Sociedad Deportiva España, founded Asociación de Fútbol No Amateur (AFNA) de Pichincha (Spanish for Non-Amateur Football Association of Pichincha). This was followed by provincial professional soccer tournaments. In accordance with AFNA bylaws, which stipulated that no team could be named after a country (except after Spain), the shareholders of Argentina got together and changed the club's name to Sociedad Deportivo Quito.

The 50's and 60's were fruitful decades for Deportivo Quito with the club...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Football Club
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from