Somerset County Cricket Club

Somerset County Cricket Club

Cricket Team
Cricket Team Less

Somerset County Cricket Club

to get instant updates about 'Somerset County Cricket Club' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Somerset County Cricket Club is one of the 18 major county clubs which make up the English and Welsh domestic cricket structure, representing the historic county of Somerset. The club's limited overs team is called Somerset (formerly known as the Somerset Sabres).

The county club was founded in 1875, and was granted first-class status in 1882, and then again in 1891, having lost it for five years between. Somerset have never won the County Championship, in which they have competed since 1891, the county's highest finish being second, which was achieved in both 2001 and 2010. The club won their first silverware in the late 1970s, winning both the Gillette Cup and John Player League in 1979. In the years since, Somerset have experienced some success in one-day cricket, winning the Gillette Cup on two further occasions, the Benson & Hedges Cup twice and the John Player League once more. Since the introduction of Twenty20 cricket in 2003, the club have reached the final of the Twenty20 cup competition on three occasions, winning the competition in 2005.

The club has its headquarters at the County Ground, Taunton, where it plays the majority of its games. Somerset also play one-day cricket at the Recreation Ground, Bath. Former grounds include Yeovil, Weston-super-Mare, Frome, Glastonbury, Wells and the Imperial Tobacco Ground in south Bristol.


Earliest cricket in Somerset

In the seventeenth century, the related sport of "Stow-Ball", or......
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Cricket Team
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from