South American Youth Championship

South American Youth Championship

South American Youth Championship

to get instant updates about 'South American Youth Championship' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The South American Youth Championship, also known as U-20 South American Championship and Juventud de América (English: "America's Youth") is a South American football tournament organized by the CONMEBOL (CONfederación SudaMEricana de FútBOL), for South American national teams of men under age 20.


The first South American Youth Championship was hosted by Venezuela in 1954. Initially for men under age 19, this limit was maintained until the 7th championship, hosted by Peru in 1975. Since the 8th edition (1977), when the tournament took place in Venezuela for the second time, the age limit was raised to 20. This change was made in order to use the competition as South American qualification for the FIFA World Youth Championship (now renamed the FIFA U-20 World Cup), held every two years since 1977. The most recent edition (number 25) was hosted by Peru and won by Brazil in 2011.


All matches take place in the host country, and all ten U-20 national football teams of CONMEBOL compete in every edition (if none of the associations withdraw). They are separated in two groups of five, and each team plays four matches in a pure round-robin stage. The three top competitors advance to a single final group of six, wherein each team plays five matches. The results in this last pure round-robin stage determines the champion and the South American qualification to the next FIFA U-20 World Cup. Unlike most international tournaments, in South American Youth...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from