South Goa

to get instant updates about 'South Goa' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

South Goa is one of the two districts that comprise the state of Goa, India. The district has an area of 1,966 kmĀ² and a population of 586,591 (2001 census). It is bounded by North Goa District to the north, Utara Kannada District of Karnataka state to the east and south, and by the Arabian Sea to the west.

Historical background

The Portuguese established a colony in Goa in 1510, and expanded the colony to its present boundaries during the 17th and 18th centuries. Goa was annexed by India on December 19 1961. Goa and two other former Portuguese enclaves became the union territory of Goa, Daman and Diu, and Goa was organized into a single district in 1965. On 30 May 1987 Goa attained statehood (while Daman and Diu became a separate union territory), and Goa was reorganized into two districts, North Goa and South Goa.


The administrative headquarters of the district is Margao. The district is divided into three subdivisions, Margao, Mormugao, and Quepem, and five taluks, Salcete, Mormugao, Quepem, Sanguem, and Canacona.


Konkani is mother tongue of majority of people living in South Goa district. Marathi and Kannada are spoken by a substantial number of people as mother tongue. English & Hindi are understood by majority of the population.

ReligionsHindus and Christians form majority of the south Goa population.while there are also Muslims, Jain,Sikhs.

External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from