Southbury railway station

Southbury Railway Station

London Station
London Station Less

Southbury railway station

to get instant updates about 'Southbury Railway Station' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Southbury railway station is in the London Borough of Enfield in North London, and is in Travelcard Zone 5, on the Seven Sisters branch of the Lea Valley Lines. The station, and all trains serving it, is operated by National Express East Anglia.


The railway line from Bury Street Junction, north of the current Edmonton Green station, to Cheshunt was opened by the Great Eastern Railway on October 1, 1891. It was known as the Churchbury Loop.

The district served by the line was still predominantly rural, and the coming of the tram to Waltham Cross in 1904 saw the railway unable to compete. Passenger services ceased on October 1, 1909, but were reinstated for the benefit of munitions workers between March 1, 1915 and July 1, 1919.

After that the line was only served by freight trains until the line was electrified as part of a wider scheme, and Southbury station reopened to passengers on November 21, 1960.White, H.P., A Regional History of the Railways of Great Britain Volume 3 Greater London, David & Charles, 1987 The line is now known as the Southbury Loop.

The station was opened as Churchbury railway station, and did not gain its current name until 1960. The goods depot at the station closed in 1970.Brown, Joe, London Railway Atlas, page 5, Ian Allan Publishing, 2006


The typical off-peak service from the station is two trains per hour to Cheshunt, and two trains per hour to Liverpool Street station.


Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


London Station
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from