Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association

Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association

Athletic Conference
Athletic Conference Less

Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association

to get instant updates about 'Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association (SIAA) was one of the first collegiate athletic conferences in the United States. Twenty-seven of the current Division I FBS (formerly Division I-A) football programs were members of this conference at some point, as were at least 19 other schools. Every member of the current Southeastern Conference except Arkansas and six of the 12 current members of the Atlantic Coast Conference formerly held membership in the SIAA. The University of Texas and Texas A&M, now of the Big 12 South division (and previously of the now defunct Southwest Conference) were also early members.


The SIAA was founded on December 21, 1894, by Dr. William Dudley, a chemistry professor at Vanderbilt. The original members were Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Sewanee, and Vanderbilt. Clemson, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi State, Tennessee, Tulane, and Texas, joined the following year in 1896. The conference was originally formed to standardize player eligibility rules and host an annual track meet and basketball tournament.Roger Saylor, (PDF), College Football Historical Society, The LA84 Foundation, retrieved March 1, 2009.

In 1915, a disagreement arose within the conference regarding the eligibility of freshman athletes, the so-called "one-year rule." Generally, the larger universities opposed the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Athletic Conference
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from