Southern Yatsugatake Volcanic Group

Southern Yatsugatake Volcanic Group

Southern Yatsugatake Volcanic Group

to get instant updates about 'Southern Yatsugatake Volcanic Group' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

, also just Yatsugatake is a volcanic group of inactive volcanoes located on the border of Nagano Prefecture and Yamanashi Prefecture on Honshū in Japan.


The Southern Yatsugatake Volcanic Group is part of the Yatsugatake Mountains. The southern group is defined as the mountains south of the Natsuzawa Pass. The highest peak of the mountains is Mount Aka and the elevation is 2,899 metres.

The southern Yatugatake mountains are steep and have alpine characteristics. The mountains of the Northern Yatsugatake Volcanic Group are gentler and lower.

This volcanic group is listed among the 100 famous mountains in Japan. There the mountains are listed as Yatsugatake. Mount Tateshina is also part of the Yatsugatake mountains, but is listed separately.

These mountains are part of the Yatsugatake-Chūshin Kōgen Quasi-National Park.


The volcanoes are stratovolcanoes that are 1 million to 200,000 years old. The rock is mainly basalt and andesite.

List of peaks

The following peaks make up the Southern Yatsugatake Volcanic Group:


<gallery>Image:Mt.Akadake from Mt.Gongendake 01.jpg|Mount Aka, the highest peak of the Yatsugatake mountainsImage:Yatsugatake4.jpg|Mount Gongen, from Mount AkaImage:Mt.Akadake and Mt.Amidadake from Mt.Gongendake 01.jpg|Mount Amida, Mount Iō, Mount Yoko and...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from