Souths Logan Magpies

Souths Logan Magpies

_nrl_club Less

Souths Logan Magpies

to get instant updates about 'Souths Logan Magpies' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Souths Logan Magpies, more commonly referred to by their former name Souths or simply Magpies, are a rugby league football club based in the southern suburbs of Brisbane, Australia. They play in the Queensland Wizard Cup, and although technically are a newer club (having been formed in 2003), they have roots tracing back (as Souths Magpies) to as early as 1910, the second year of rugby league in Queensland.


The first rugby league club to represent the southern side of the Brisbane River was West End, who entered the Queensland Rugby League premiership in 1910. Playing in an all black strip, the club won the 1913 premiership against Natives 5-3 in a low scoring game, and were runners-up to Valleys the following year, going down by the tune of 18-8. With the formation of the Brisbane Rugby League in 1921, West End changed their name to Carltons for 1922. Carltons, wearing red and white jerseys, were a relatively successful club, winning the competition in 1921 (vs. Coorparoo 12-10), 1925 (vs. Coorparoo 24-5) and 1930 (vs. Valleys 19-8).

Following the introduction of District Football in 1933 by the Brisbane Rugby League, Carltons were forced to relinquish their identity and as a result became known as Southern Suburbs. Souths inherited a debt of 90 pounds, and also suffered an exodus of players, resulting in doubts over their ability to field a first grade team. However, newly-elected President Jack Adams started the club with regular meetings under his West End...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from