Southwestern Krai

Southwestern Krai

Southwestern Krai

to get instant updates about 'Southwestern Krai' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Southwestern Krai (), also known as Kiev General Governorate or Kiev, Podolia, and Volhynia General Governorate () was a subdivision (a krai) of the Russian Empire that included much of the territory of modern-day Ukraine covering both banks of the Dnieper River.

The Governorate General consisted of several governorates (gubernias) and, unlike the gubernia's whose senior position was held by a civilian person, the Governor General on top the General Governorate held was a high-ranking military officer.


The Southwestern Krai consisting of three gubernias, the Volhynia, the Podolia and the Kiev Governorate, was originally incepted on January 22, 1832 when Vasily Levashov, was appointed the Military Governor of Kiev and the General Governor of Podolia and Volhynia.

From 1881 the territory of the Governorate General was de facto expanded to five Gubernias as Governor General Alexander Drenteln was also appointed the temporary Governor General of Chernigov and Poltava Governorates.

In 1889 the Governorate General original jurisdiction of only three gubernias was restored. It existed in this form until 1915 when the territorial unit was abolished. Fyodor Trepov was the last General Governor of Kiev.

In 1912 the Kholm Governorate, a former governorate of the Congress Poland, was detached from it, and attached to the Kiev General Governorate.

See also


Паўднёва-Заходні край
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from