Soviet Navy

Soviet Navy

Military Unit
Military Unit Less

Soviet Navy

to get instant updates about 'Soviet Navy' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Soviet Navy (, literally "Military Maritime Fleet of the USSR") was the naval arm of the Soviet Armed Forces. Often referred to as the Red Fleet, the Soviet played an instrumental role in a Warsaw Pact war with NATO, where it would have attempted to prevent naval convoys from bringing reinforcements across the Atlantic Ocean from North America to Western Europe. Such a conflict never occurred, but the Soviet Navy still saw considerable action during the Cold War.

The Soviet Navy was divided into four major fleets, the Northern, Pacific, Black Sea, and Baltic Fleets, and commanded separately, the Leningrad Naval Base. The Caspian Flotilla was a smaller force operating in the land-locked Caspian Sea. The Mediterranean Squadron drew its units from the Black Sea, Baltic, and Northern Fleets; the Indian Ocean Squadron primarily from the Pacific Fleet. Other components included Naval Aviation, Naval Infantry (the Soviet equivalent of marines), and Coastal Artillery.

According to a 1980 Time article citing analysts from RAND Corporation, non-Slavs were generally prohibited from joining elite or strategic positions in the armed forces like the Navy, Strategic Rocket Forces and the Soviet Air Force because of suspicions of the loyalty of ethnic minorities., Time , June 23, 1980

Most of the Soviet Navy was reformed into the Russian Navy after the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991.


Early history

The Soviet Navy was based on a...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Military Unit
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from