Spanish Protectorate of Morocco

Spanish Protectorate Of Morocco

Former Country
Former Country Less

Spanish Protectorate of Morocco

to get instant updates about 'Spanish Protectorate Of Morocco' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Spanish protectorate of Morocco () () was the area of Morocco under colonial rule by the Spanish Empire, established by the Treaty of Fez in 1912 and ending in 1956, when both France and Spain recognized Moroccan independence.

Territorial borders

The territories of the Spanish protectorate of Morocco included northern Morocco (except Ceuta and Melilla, which have been Spanish since the 16th and 15th century, respectively), and the Cape Juby or Tarfaya Strip in the extreme South. On the contrary, the small territory of Ifni, being of Spanish sovereignty, was not a part of the Spanish protectorate.

The capital of Spanish protectorate of Morocco was Tetuán (Tétouan).

The rest of the country was ruled by France, under the name of French Morocco, also from 1912 to 1956.

The city of Tangier was declared an international zone, though this status was suspended during World War II when it was provisionally occupied by Spanish troops, from 14 June 1940, on the pretext that an Italian invasion was imminent.

The Republic of the Rif led by the guerrilla leader Abd El-Krim was a breakaway state that existed in the Rif region from 1921 to 1926, when it was dissolved by joint expedition of the Spanish Army of Africa and French forces during the Rif War.

Spanish historical claims

Ceuta had been Portuguese since 1415 before becoming Spanish in 1640. Melilla had been part of Spain since 1497, neither was included formally...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Country
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from