Speaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria

Speaker Of The House Of Representatives Of Nigeria

Speaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria

to get instant updates about 'Speaker Of The House Of Representatives Of Nigeria' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Speaker of the House of Representatives is the presiding officer of the Federal House of Representatives of Nigeria. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, the current speaker, was elected on November 1, 2007.


From 1959 to 1960, Jaja Wachuku was the first indigenous Speaker of the House of Representatives. Wachuku replaced Sir Frederick Metcalfe of Great Britain. As first Speaker of the House, Wachuku received Nigeria's Instrument of Independence, also known as the Freedom Charter, on October 1, 1960, from Princess Alexandra of Kent (Alexandra was Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom's representative at the Nigerian Independence ceremonies).

Selection and succession to presidency

The speaker is chosen in an indirect election conducted within the House of Representatives. The Speaker is third in line for succession to the Nigerian presidency, after the President of the Senate and Vice President.

List of Speakers

<!-- Commented out because image was deleted: -->


Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from