St Albans (UK Parliament constituency)

St Albans (UK Parliament Constituency)

UK ConstituencyMain
UK ConstituencyMain

St Albans (UK Parliament constituency)

to get instant updates about 'St Albans (UK Parliament Constituency)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

St Albans is a parliamentary constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Established in 1885, it is a county constituency in Hertfordshire, and elects one Member of Parliament by the first past the post system of election.

From 1554 to 1852 there was a parliamentary borough of the same name, consisting only of the city of St Albans, which elected two MPs by the bloc vote system.


The St Albans constituency lies within the English county of Hertfordshire. It comprises the cathedral city of St Albans and some of the surrounding countryside, mainly to the south of the city.

When the constituency was created in 1885, it also included the areas of High Barnet, Borehamwood, Elstree, Welwyn, Wheathampstead, and Harpenden, all of which were transferred to other constituencies at subsequent boundary redistributions.


The constituency elected a borough representative for over 300 years, until it was disenfranchised as a result of an electoral corruption in 1852. The constituency was re-established in 1885.

The constituency was historically held by the Conservative Party. Peter Lilley was a notable recent Conservative MP for the constituency. Following boundary changes in 1997, he moved to the newly created constituency of Hitchin and Harpenden.

Members of Parliament

MPs 1553–1640

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


UK Constituency Main
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from