Standards and Privileges Committee

Standards And Privileges Committee

Standards and Privileges Committee

to get instant updates about 'Standards And Privileges Committee' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Standards and Privileges Committee of the United Kingdom House of Commons was established in 1995 to replace the earlier Committee of Privileges. Ten Members of Parliament sit to make recommendations to the House on complaints of breach of Parliamentary privilege.

The Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to oversee the work of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards. It examines the arrangements for the compilation, maintenance and accessibility of the Register of Members' Interests and considers specific complaints made in relation to the registering or declaring of interests and any matter relating to the conduct of Members, including specific complaints in relation to alleged breaches in the Code of Conduct which have been drawn to the Committee's attention by the Commissioner.

On the 9th of December 2010 Geoff Hoon along with Stephen Byers and Richard Caborn were banned from entering the Parliamentary estate; the Committee banned Geoff Hoon for five years as his was the most serious breach, whilst Byers received two years and Caborn six months. This was due to the 2010 Cash for Influence Scandal


As of 22 November 2010, the members of the committee are as follows:



Occasionally, the House of Commons orders changes to be made in terms of membership of select committees, as proposed by the Selection Committee. Such changes are shown below.

See also

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from