State Emblem of the Soviet Union

State Emblem Of The Soviet Union

Coat Of Arms
Coat Of Arms Less

State Emblem of the Soviet Union

to get instant updates about 'State Emblem Of The Soviet Union' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The State Emblem of the Soviet Union ( Gosudarstvennyiy gerb SSSR) was adopted in 1923 and was used until the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991. Although it technically is an emblem rather than a coat of arms, since it does not follow heraldic rules, in Russian it is called герб (transliteration: gerb), the word used for a traditional coat of arms.


First version (1923–1936)

The project of the first version of the state emblem was accepted on July 6, 1923 by the 2nd session of the Central Executive Committee (CIK) of the USSR and the version was completed on September 22 of that year. This design was fixed in the 1924 Soviet Constitution:"The State Emblem of the USSR is composed of a sickle and a hammer on a globe depicted in the rays of the sun and framed by ears of wheat, with the inscription "proletariats of the world, unite!" in six languages - Russian, Ukrainian, Belarusian, Georgian, Armenian, Turko-Tatar. At the top of the Emblem is a five-pointed star."

Ivan Dubasov was an important contributor when creating the emblem.

Second version (1936–1946)

According to the 1936 Soviet Constitution, the USSR consisted of eleven republics. Hence the major new version's difference from the previous one were eleven ribbons bearing USSR State Motto inscriptions in eleven languages.

Third version (1946–1956)

The number of republics in the USSR became 16...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Coat Of Arms
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from