Sterling Professor

Sterling Professor

Sterling Professor

to get instant updates about 'Sterling Professor' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

A Sterling Professorship is the highest academic rank at Yale University, awarded to a tenured faculty member considered one of the best in his or her field. Traditionally, there are only 27 at any one time, though there are currently 39.


The professorships are named for and funded by an approximately $10 million endowment left by John William Sterling of the Yale Class of 1864, name partner in the New York law firm Shearman & Sterling.

The first Sterling Professor was the chemist John Johnson, who was awarded the rank in 1920.

Other past recipients include Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas (Law), Wilbur Lucius Cross (English), Jaroslav Pelikan (history), Nobel Prize winner James Tobin (Economics), C. Vann Woodward (History) and Alvan Feinstein (Medicine and Epidemiology).

Among the most famous current Sterling Professors are legal scholar Bruce Ackerman, Nobel Prize-winning biochemists Sidney Altman and Thomas Steitz, literary critic Harold Bloom, economist William Nordhaus, Judge Guido Calabresi, political scientist James C. Scott, historian of China Jonathan Spence, medieval scholars R. Howard Bloch, Giuseppe Mazzotta, and MarĂ­a Rosa Menocal, historian of Ancient Greece and presidential advisor Donald Kagan, and Head Start founder Edward Zigler. Current Sterling Professors Emeriti include political scientists Robert A. Dahl and Charles E. Lindblom, Pulitzer Prize-winning historian David Brion Davis, historian and former Yale President Howard Lamar and...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from