Successor parish

Successor Parish

Subdivision Type
Subdivision Type Less

Successor parish

to get instant updates about 'Successor Parish' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Successor parishes are civil parishes with a parish council created by the Local Government Act 1972 in England. They replaced, with the same boundaries, a selected group of urban districts and municipal boroughs that were abolished in 1974. Most successor parish councils exercised the right to call themselves towns. A total of 300 successor parishes were formed from the former area of 78 municipal boroughs and 221 urban districts. Civil parishes are not permitted to cross district or county boundaries and where the creation of a successor parish would cause this to happen, only part of the former area became a parish or two parishes were formed.


Until 1974 civil parishes governed by parish councils only existed within rural districts. They were created by the Local Government Act 1894 and were not permitted in urban areas. Their number had been in decline as more areas became urbanised and were incorporated into urban districts or boroughs.


Part V of Schedule 1 of the Local Government Act 1972 directed the Local Government Boundary for England to consult with the existing local authorities and make proposals for the establishment of new parishes with a boundary coterminous with an existing urban district or borough, or if divided by a district boundary as much as was comprised in a single district. The Commission was also to propose names for the parishes. The concept of successor parishes was a relatively late addition to the Local Government Bill,...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Subdivision Type
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from