Suffolk County Football Association

Suffolk County Football Association

Organization Less

Suffolk County Football Association

to get instant updates about 'Suffolk County Football Association' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Suffolk County Football Association is the governing body for football in the county of Suffolk, England.


Suffolk FA was formed in 1885 and had eleven founder member clubs, they were, Ipswich Association (now Ipswich Town), Ipswich School, Ipswich Rangers, Cowell’s Club (Ipswich), Stowmarket, Bury Town, Bury School, Beccles College, Sudbury Town, Framlingham College and Woodbridge Town

The first President of the Association was The Duke of Hamilton, his Presidency ran between 1885 and 1894.

There were 41 registered referees shown in the County handbook for the 1903–1904 season, compared with the figure in today’s book of over 400. In the same 1903–1904 handbook there are 100 clubs shown, that were affiliated to the Association, compared with today’s figure of over 600.

Key dates in the history of the Association are provided below:

1898 – In 1898 a County Fixture was held against Aston Villa, who at the time were the previous season’s F.A. Cup Holders. The gate receipts for this game was £238 5s. 4d. in comparison the Senior Cup Final of 1905 realised gate receipts of £48 12s. 6d.

1907–14 – The period 1907 to 1914 saw the years of “the split” when there were two associations, one affiliated to the F.A. and the other to the A.F.A. In 1914 the F.A. and A.F.A. effected a compromise which resulted in the association being again a harmonious and united body.

1935 – On 20 March 1935 Suffolk County Football Association held its Jubilee...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from