Sunbury United Rugby League

Sunbury United Rugby League

Aus Sport Club
Aus Sport Club Less

Sunbury United Rugby League

to get instant updates about 'Sunbury United Rugby League' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Sunbury United Rugby League Club is a rugby league team based in Sunbury, Victoria, Australia.

They play in the Victorian Rugby League competition.

Club history

The club was originally formed by Ted & Maureen Riley after they viewed a rugby league internationalgame between Australia and New Zealand at Olympic Park in 1991 which left them wondering if rugby league could take off in the Victorian township of Sunbury. They then placed an advertisement in the local paper looking for other interested parties and on September 17 1991 the first meeting of the club was held with twenty-six members.

The members originally applied to the Victorian Rugby League for membership in 1991 but couldn't afford the entry fee to begin a club so had to wait until 1992 when the club became officially formed. Since 1992 the club has gone on to register a total of 390 senior players.

They won their first premiership in 2009, beating Casey Sharks 48-18 in the VRL grand final.


  • Luke Rowney (1992)
  • Roger Stephens (1993;1994)
  • Tom Williams (1995)
  • Brian Leon (1996)
  • Bill Buchester (1997)
  • Tom Williams (1998)
  • Richard Puke (1999 to 2001)
  • Ty Watson (2002)
  • Greg Walsh (2003)
  • John Bourke (2004-2005)
  • David Wallis (2006)
  • Ben Roarty (2007;2008)
  • Garry Whicker (2009)


External links

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Aus Sport Club
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from