Super Eight

to get instant updates about 'Super Eight' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

For information on the second round of the Cricket World Cup, see Super 8 .For the film format, see Super 8 mm film.

The Super Eight is the name of the Massachusetts hockey tournament that determines the state champion. The tournament is technically called the Division IA tournament. Both public and private high schools from the MIAA compete in this tournament. The Independent School League does not compete in the MIAA and has its own tournament

The format of the Super Eight tournament is a round-robin in which the top eight Division I teams compete against each other. Since 2001, there are actually 10 teams selected, with the bottom four seeds playing a play-in game. The winners of those games compete in the Super Eight tournament while the losers return to the respective Division I tournaments (e.g. Division I North tournament) and are seeded at the top of their respective tournaments.


While Catholic Memorial has won the well over half of the tournaments with 13. BC High's 2007 championship marked the first time a school other than Catholic Memorial has won back-to-back tournaments and only the second time Catholic Memorial has gone three years without a championship (the first time was in 1996 and 1997). Reading Memorial High School became the first public team to win the Super Eight after defeating Malden Catholic 3-0 in 2008.Through 2007 tournament

1991 seeds

  1. Catholic Memorial High School^
  2. St. John’s Prep, Danvers
  3. Boston College High School
  4. Matignon......
  5. ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from