Swansea Metropolitan University

Swansea Metropolitan University

University Less

Swansea Metropolitan University

to get instant updates about 'Swansea Metropolitan University' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Swansea Metropolitan University (, formerly Swansea Institute of Higher Education, or Athrofa Abertawe) is a university based in Swansea, Wales, UK.

The University was formed as Swansea Institute of Higher Education ("SIHE") in 1992, when it achieved its status as an independent Higher Education Corporation. It had previously been known as the West Glamorgan Institute of Higher Education, which itself had been formed in September 1976 from the amalgamation of three colleges, the origins of which date back to the mid-19th century. Its predecessors were Swansea College of Art, Swansea College of Education (a teacher training college), and Swansea College of Technology.

In January 2008, it was announced that the Privy Council had accorded the institution university status, and approved its present name, making it one of the newest universities in Britain.

The Institute was formerly a full member of the University of Wales, but following structural changes in the University in September 2007, it is now an accredited institution. It is an approved centre for BTEC Higher National and NVQ programmes.

Swansea Metropolitan University's study programmes cover a range of career opportunities. The basis of all of its courses is the application of knowledge to real-life situations, whether in the classroom, laboratory or workshop. The best known course at the university is Glass, but the other best-known school is the School of Applied Computing at the...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from