Sydenham railway line

Sydenham Railway Line

Sydenham railway line

to get instant updates about 'Sydenham Railway Line' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Sydenham railway line is a suburban electric railway in Melbourne, Australia. It has 13 stations, in Metcard ticketing Zones 1 and 2. It is the electrified section of the Bendigo railway within metropolitan Melbourne.


The Sydenham line generally traverses flat country and thus has no major earthworks, except on the west bank of the Maribyrnong River where it requires some moderately heavy earthworks. It has numerous level crossings and a few bridges under or over roads.

The Sydenham line is the only line on the Melbourne Metropolitan train network that does not have a terminating station named after the line. The last station on the Sydenham line is Watergardens, which was known as Sydenham until the construction of the Watergardens Town Centre.


The line is quadrupled to South Kensington railway station, then is double track for the rest of the line, although from South Kensington to Footscray, it runs alongside the Werribee line, effectively extending the quadruple track to there.

The line is also paralleled by a double track goods line and the interstate standard gauge line, the latter being dual gauge with the goods line to West Footscray. The goods line joins the Sydenham line at Sunshine, whilst the standard gauge line to Sydney continues to run alongside the suburban line to Albion, where it and a goods line head off in a north-easterly direction.

The line is controlled by automatic block signalling throughout. Intermediate...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from