Symphony No. 2 (Sibelius)

Symphony No. 2 (Sibelius)

Symphony No. 2 (Sibelius)

to get instant updates about 'Symphony No. 2 (Sibelius)' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Jean Sibelius's Symphony No. 2 in D major, Opus 43 was started in Winter 1900 in Rapallo, Italy, and finished in 1902 in Finland. It was first performed by the Helsinki Philharmonic Society on 8 March 1902, with the composer conducting. After the first performance, Sibelius made some revisions, and the revised version was given its first performance by Armas Järnefelt on 10 November 1903 in Stockholm.


Sibelius scored his second symphony for an orchestra consisting of standard instruments:
2 Flutes
2 Oboes
2 Clarinets
2 Bassoons

4 Horn
3 Trumpets
3 Trombones


1st and 2nd Violins
Double basses


The symphony is in four movements, with the third movement and the finale played attacca:

  1. Allegretto - Poco allegro - Tranquillo, ma poco a poco ravvivando il tempo all'allegro - Poco largamente - Tempo I - Poco allegro
  2. Tempo andante, ma rubato - Poco allegro - Molto largamente - Andante sostenuto - Andante con moto ed energico - Allegro - Poco largamente - Molto largamente - Andante sostenuto - Andante con moto ed energico - Andante - Pesante
  3. Vivacissimo - Lento e soave - Tempo primo - Lento e soave - (attacca)
  4. Finale: Allegro moderato - Moderato assai - Meno moderato e poco a poco ravvivando il tempo - Tempo I - Largamente e pesante - Poco largamente - Molto largamente

The duration is approximately 45 minutes.


In Finland, this popular work with its grandiose finale was...
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from