Tales of the Quintana Roo

Tales Of The Quintana Roo

Book Less

Tales of the Quintana Roo

to get instant updates about 'Tales Of The Quintana Roo' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Tales of the Quintana Roo is a collection of fantasy stories by author James Tiptree, Jr.. It was released in 1986 and was the author's first book published by Arkham House. It was published in an edition of 3,673 copies. The stories originally appeared in Isaac Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine and The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction and are set in the easternmost shore of the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico. In addition to winning the world fantasy award for best collection in 1987, each of the stories was nominated or won genre awards, and "What Came Ashore at Lirios" was included in the Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories.


Tales of the Quintana Roo contains the following stories:
  1. "A Note About the Mayas of the Quintana Roo"
  2. "What Came Ashore at Lirios" (published in Isaac Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine as "Lirios: A Tale of the Quintana Roo")
  3. "The Boy Who Waterskied to Forever"
  4. "Beyond the Dead Reef"


The collection and the stories contained therein were nominated for a number of genre awards:

  • Tales of Quintano Roo (Winner of the World Fantasy Award for best collection, 1987)
  • "What Came Ashore at Lirios" (Nominated for a Nebula award, 1981)
  • "The Boy Who Waterskied to Forever" (Nominated for a Hugo award, 1982)
  • "Beyond the Dead Reef" (Winner of a Locus Award for best short story,...... ...
    Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from