Tarun Kumar Gogoi

Tarun Kumar Gogoi

Indian Politician
Indian Politician Less

Tarun Kumar Gogoi

to get instant updates about 'Tarun Kumar Gogoi' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Tarun Kumar Gogoi (Assamese: তৰুণ কুমাৰ গৈগ) (born April 1, 1936) is the Chief Minister of the state of Assam in India.

Gogoi was born on the Rangajan tea estate in the Jorhat district of Assam. He was a student of Jorhat Government Boys School and did his graduation from J B College, Jorhat and LL.B from Gauhati University.

Tarun Gogoi is a member of the Indian National Congress. In 1971, Gogoi was elected to the 5th Lok Sabha from Jorhat constituency.

In 1976, he became the Joint Secretary of All India Congress Committee. He was re-elected to the 6th Lok Sabha in 1977 from the same constituency. Then again, he was re-elected to the 7th Lok Sabha in 1983 from Jorhat. For the 4th time, he was elected to the 10th Lok Sabha in 1991 from Kaliabor constituency. During 1991-93, he was the Union Minister of Food (Independent Charge). From 1993 to 1995, he held the portfolio of Food Processing Industry as the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge).

During 1996-98, Gogoi was elected Member of Assam Legislative Assembly from Margherita Constituency. He was elected as a member of Parliament for the fifth time in 1998 to the 12th Lok Sabha from Kaliabor. Again in 1999, Gogoi was re-elected to the 13th Lok Sabha from the same constituency. On 17 May 2001, he assumed the Office of Chief Minister in Assam.

In 2006 with the Congress party coming to power in Assam for the second consecutive time, Gogoi got another tenure as the Chief Minister.

In 2011, Tarun Gogoi...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Politician
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from