Tatra County

Tatra County

Settlement Less

Tatra County

to get instant updates about 'Tatra County' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Tatra County () is a unit of territorial administration and local government (powiat) in Lesser Poland Voivodeship, southern Poland, on the Slovak border. It came into being on January 1, 1999, as a result of the Polish local government reforms passed in 1998. Its administrative seat and only town is Zakopane, which lies south of the regional capital Kraków. The county takes its name from the Tatra mountain range, which covers most of its territory.

The county covers an area of . As of 2006 its total population is 65,393, out of which the population of Zakopane is 27,486 and the rural population is 37,907.

The mountainous southern part of the county (211 km²) makes up the Tatra National Park. This area, together with the Slovakian Tatra National Park across the border, make up a UNESCO-designated biosphere reserve.

Neighbouring counties

Tatra County is bordered by only one other Polish county, Nowy Targ County, which lies to the north. To the east, west and south it is bordered by Slovakia (namely, Tvrdošín and Liptovský Mikuláš Districts in Žilina Region to the south and west, and Poprad District in Prešov Region to the south and east).

Administrative division

The county is subdivided into five gminas (one urban and four rural). These are listed in the following table, in descending order of population.



Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from