Tattersalls Gold Cup

Tattersalls Gold Cup

Tattersalls Gold Cup

to get instant updates about 'Tattersalls Gold Cup' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Tattersalls Gold Cup is a Group 1 flat horse race in Ireland open to thoroughbreds aged four years or older. It is run at the Curragh over a distance of 1 mile, 2 furlongs and 110 yards (2,112 metres), and it is scheduled to take place each year in May.


The event was established in 1962, and it was originally called the Ballymoss Stakes. It was named in honour of Ballymoss, a successful Irish-trained racehorse in the late 1950s. The first two runnings were held at Limerick Junction over 1 mile and 3½ furlongs (1962) and 1 mile and 4 furlongs (1963). During the early part of its history it was open to horses aged three or older.

The race was renamed the Rogers Gold Cup in 1984, and the minimum age was raised to four in 1985. Under the sponsorship of Tattersalls it became known as the Tattersalls Rogers Gold Cup, and this was shortened to the present title in 1993. For a period the event held Group 2 status, and it was promoted to Group 1 level in 1999.


<span style="font-size:90%">Most successful horse (2 wins):
  • Yankee Gold – 1976, 1977

Leading jockey (6 wins):
  • Michael KinaneCockney Lass (1987), Prince of Andros (1995), Definite Article (1996), Dance Design (1997), Montjeu (2000), Black Sam Bellamy (2003)

Leading trainer (5 wins):
  • Vincent O'BrienNardoo (1963), White Gloves (1967), Selko (1969), Cavo Doro (1973), Golden Fleece (1982)
  • Dermot WeldCockney Lass (1987), Definite Article (1996), Dance Design (1997),...... ...
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...

No updates available.
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from