Former Subdivision
Former Subdivision Less


to get instant updates about 'Tayk' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Tayk (, Tao) was a historical province of the Greater Armenia, one of its 15 ashkars (worlds). Tayk consisted of 8 cantons:
  • Kogh
  • Berdats por
  • Partizats por
  • Tchakatk
  • Bokha
  • Vokaghe
  • Azordats por
  • Arsiats por.

The Tayk province covered contemporary Turkish districts of Yusufeli (Kiskim) in Artvin Province and Oltu, Olur (Tavusker), Tortum and Çamlıkaya (Hunut) to the north of İspir in Erzurum Province. To its southwest is found the ancient region of Sper. After World War I, Armenia and Georgia had contested the region, with particular conflict over Olti. As a result, Turkish rule was firmly reestablished.


  • Arutyunova-Fidanyan, Viada A., Some Aspects of the Military-Administrative Districts and Byzantine Administration in Armenia During the 11th Century, REArm 20, 1986-87: 309-20.
  • Garsoian, Nina. The Byzantine Annexation of the Armenian Kingdoms in the Eleventh Century, 192 p. In: The Armenian People from Ancient to Modern Times, vol. 1, edited by Richard G. Hovannisian, St. Martin’s Press, New York, 1977.
  • Hewsen, Robert. Armenia. A Historical Atlas. The University of Chicago Press, Chicago, 2001, Pp 341.

See also


Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Former Subdivision
No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from