Technical University of Ostrava

Technical University Of Ostrava


Technical University of Ostrava

to get instant updates about 'Technical University Of Ostrava' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Technical University of Ostrava (or Vysoká škola báňská – Technická univerzita Ostrava in Czech), is a university (polytechnics) located in the city of Ostrava, Moravian-Silesian Region, Czech Republic.

The institution was founded on 23 January 1849 as the Mining Academy in Příbram. In 1894 it was promoted to university status and in 1904 it was renamed to Vysoká škola báňská. In 1945 it was moved to Ostrava, then the centre of Czechoslovak mining industry.

Today the university has a total of about 20,000 students and consists of the following seven faculties:

  • Faculty of Economics ( – EkF)
  • Faculty of Civil Engineering ( – FAST)
  • Faculty of Mechanical Engineering ( – FS)
  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science ( – FEI)
  • Faculty of Mining and Geology ( – HGF)
  • Faculty of Metallurgy and Material Engineering ( – FMMI)
  • Faculty of Safety Engineering ( – FBI)

Notable faculty

  • Karel Heyrowský (1802–1863), Professor of mining, mining machinery and mining measurements 1849–1863
  • Josef Theurer (1862–1928), Professor of mathematics and physics 1895–1926, first chancellor of Vysoká škola báňská in Příbram (1904), and rector 1903–1927
  • František Mařík (1884–1966), Professor of winding equipment
  • František Čechura (1887–1974), Professor of mining measurements, rector 1945–1950
  • Alois Řiman (1896–1966), Founder of mine planning
  • Richard Doležal (1921–2005), Professor of process engineering at TU......
  • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from