The Chronicles of Prydain

The Chronicles Of Prydain

Novel Series
Novel Series Less

The Chronicles of Prydain

to get instant updates about 'The Chronicles Of Prydain' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The Chronicles of Prydain (sometimes given as The Prydain Chronicles) is a five-volume series of children's fantasy novels by author Lloyd Alexander. First published from 1964–1968, the stories detail the adventures of a young man named Taran, who is awarded the honor of Assistant Pig-Keeper but dreams of being a grand hero, and his companions Princess Eilonwy, Fflewddur Fflam the wandering bard and king, a feral yet gentle creature called Gurgi, and a dwarf named Doli. Since a recurring facet of the series is the progression from youth to maturity, particularly prominent in Taran Wanderer,Alexander, Lloyd (1999). "Author's note". Taran Wanderer. New York: Henry Holt and Company. ISBN 0-8050-6134-7 the series could be considered a bildungsroman.

In the early 2000s, an unabridged audiobook production of the series was produced by Listening Library, narrated by James Langton, with author's notes read by Lloyd Alexander.

The Black Cauldron, an animated film based on the books, was released by The Walt Disney Company in 1985.Scholastic Inc. Retrieved April 17, 2009. "...I have to say, there is no resemblance between the movie and the book."

Inspiration and development

Thematically the novels draw upon Welsh mythology, particularly the Mabinogion.Alexander, Lloyd (1999). "Author's note". The Book of Three. New York: Henry Holt...
Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Novel Series
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from